top of page
Writer's pictureKolot Community

Quarantining the Torah High way

Updated: May 22, 2020

Article by Tal Dimenstein (THS '20)

If there is one thing I’ve learned throughout quarantine thus far, it’s that Torah High girls are creative. You might expect that the new online AP testswhich are unfamiliar, even to the experienced AP connoisseurwould lead students to participate in daylong sessions with their textbooks. You also might expect that social distancing orders have students staring at walls out of boredom. However, when put to the test, Torah High girls have found ways to stay in touch, sane, and out of boredom through the most creative of ways. Those of us who find ourselves in a state of lethargy from the monotony of The Quarantine Day might be inspired by some of the things Torah High girls are doing. I asked some students what they were doing, other than studying, to keep busy and have fun, and these were their responses:

 

Talya Malka (THS'20): "Playing Minecraft, making coffee and meeting new college friends.”

Rina Lederman (THS'20): "Donating my hair, having regular Zoom movie nights and yoga sessions with friends, and mastering at-home Coffee Bean drinks. (Torani mango syrup in iced green tea tastes exactly like a mango cold brew!)"

Shifra Weingarten (THS '20): "In between cramming for APs, I have been running, swimming and painting."

Hannah Hydorn (THS '20): Baking things like challah, chocolate chip cookies, tortillas, and pita.”

Shoshana Ellis (THS '20): “Biking on the Peloton, running and finding other outdoor activities to stay active. Fun fact, a dolphin ate one of my flippers when I was swimming in the ocean recently.”

Rivka Peikes (THS '20): “I’ve mostly been studying, but I recently read Dr. Keating’s “Losing the Nobel Prize,” and have been doing some painting.”

Tziporah Ibragimova (THS '23): “I've started learning new recipes and baking techniques."

Sarah Guenniche (THS '20): “I've been reading a lot more and learned how to play guitar."

Andrea Frid (THS '20): “Playing video games (Minecraft, Club Penguin, Roblox, things on my Wii, etc.) and am currently learning how to animate.”

Sky Zuzan (THS '21): “Baking."











Kayla Venger (THS '22): “Playing on my new keyboard." Estie Ertel (THS '20):“Making a scrapbook of the whole year." Zippy Wilson (THS '21): "Drawing with colored chalk on my driveway." Madison Lieberman (THS '20): “Netflix and using all of my self-control not to fight my brothers.” Penina Adatto (THS '20): “Swimming and looking through old pictures." Nicole Levy (THS '20): “Reading and sleeping!" Miriam Bowers (THS '23): “Going on daily runs."

116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page