top of page
Writer's pictureKolot Community

Zoom Room Versus Classroom: A Study on Learning Effectiveness

Article by Rina Lederman (THS '20)


Torah High is coming up on two full months of online learning. As the office is deciding whether the school will start online next year, they ask us the million-dollar question: Has our level of learning decreased since starting Zoom classes?

Has our level of learning decreased since starting Zoom classes?

While there are several other apparent benefits and repercussions to Zoom classes, this article will be focusing on the actual quality of learning in both environments.

A quick survey of my classmates reveals that most people prefer classroom learning. They’d rather have a teacher present, and participate in class discussions without the threat of the technological glitch. Personally, I am among the few who do not think my quality of learning has decreased since the switch. In fact, I believe it has possibly even increased.

Personally, I am among the few who do not think my quality of learning has decreased since the switch. In fact, I believe it has possibly even increased.

I have realized that over Zoom we go off on tangents less often and focus more on the material. My opinion, however, may be skewed by the amount of time I spend in the back row chatting with my friends during in-person classes. I admit, it seems to be that the ‘mute’ option on Zoom is the only thing that successfully silences me.

The Journal of Public Affairs Education published a study on the effectiveness of online learning versus classroom learning. Their results concluded that while there is less teacher discipline in online learning, there are better group dynamics between the students. Additionally, it was found that in an online environment, students tend to have more contact outside of class hours. According to the Interactive Communications Solutions Group, 59% of students have seen an increase in their grades since going online.

According to the Interactive Communications Solutions Group, 59% of students have seen an increase in their grades since going online.

Other studies have noted that students feel that it takes longer to reach the same level of competency in a subject online than it does in a classroom.

Now, I’m sure if these researchers knew about the entire color war Hadassah (our Student Council Vice President) had planned, they would be less favorable towards online learning. That being said, for the sake of the returning students, I hope the office promptly discounts the many advantages to online education. After all, we can’t really host morning coffee trips and group excursions to the downstairs bathroom over Zoom.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page