top of page
Writer's pictureKolot Community

Communication: It's Not Just Through Speech

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

Article by Shoshana Ellis ('20)

My name is Shoshana, and I am a 12th grader at Torah High. I have been involved in the special needs community since the sixth grade. I have had the incredible opportunity to take part in Shooting Stars—a monthly program where participants are paired with volunteers to do arts and crafts, play games, and dance. It was at Shooting Stars where I built a special relationship with Casey, a twenty-four-year-old girl who has Cerebral Palsy. While her Cerebral Palsy may limit her ability to speak, it does not limit her ability to build strong relationships and to convey her ideas to the world.

While her Cerebral Palsy may limit her ability to speak, it does not limit her ability to build strong relationships and to convey her ideas to the world.

For the last three years, I have been visiting Casey at her house weekly to spend some one-on-one time with her. Through the many hours spent together, we have achieved a unique friendship. Since Casey is unable to speak, we communicate nonverbally through dancing, playing piano, blogging, playing charades, and more. Despite only seeing each other once a week, we have made countless unforgettable memories. One of Casey’s favorite games is charades, which we play almost every time I go to her house. She acts out the card, and I try to guess what she is acting out. Through this game, Casey can express herself through her actions rather than through speech.

I wanted to share this opportunity with others and involve my friends in this wonderful experience that I so deeply cherish. One afternoon I invited a peer of mine, Hannah, to Casey’s house. Hannah is also a big part of the Friendship Circle and a familiar face to Casey. Casey was elated to hear that another friend of hers was able to come over to her house to hang out with her. The next weekend, Casey had a piano recital, and I knew it would mean a lot to her if she was able to practice in front of an audience to prepare herself. As Hannah and I listened to Casey play the piano so beautifully, it was clear that despite not being able to communicate verbally, Casey is able to express herself in her own way through various creative outlets.

It was clear that despite not being able to communicate verbally, Casey is able to express herself in her own way through various creative outlets.

Casey Latz shares her feelings with the world despite the challenges that come with Cerebral Palsy. Our friendship has changed my perspective on how to be an active listener and has taught me how to be more accepting of all people, as every single individual is unique and has a story to share with the world.

Our friendship has changed my perspective on how to be an active listener and has taught me how to be more accepting of all people, as every single individual is unique and has a story to share with the world.
37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page