top of page
Writer's pictureKolot Community

Reflecting on my Torah High Experience

Article by Hannah Rappoport (THS '20)

As senior year comes to an end, it’s difficult for me to accept that my time as a Torah High student is coming to an end as well. Over the last four years, Torah High has become my second home, with Rabbi Peikes, Deborah, and Mrs. Lederman stepping in as my second set of parents.

At the beginning of high school, I fully intended to attend public school. I wanted the stereotypical “high school experience.” A week before ninth grade was set to begin, I made the impulsive decision to switch to Torah High. Going to a school without my 16 best friends and a Jewish environment didn’t sit right with me, and the desire to grow both secularly and Judaically trumped my desire to go to public school. I can easily say that choosing to attend Torah High was the best decision I’ve made in my entire life.

I can easily say that choosing to attend Torah High was the best decision I’ve made in my entire life.

The memories that I’ve made at Torah High are ones that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. From the Big Bear Snowbatton to daily Peet’s Coffee trips to the senior trip to Poland, I always have fun when I’m with my Torah High Family.

Last week, I spoke with a friend who attends another school. We talked about how we felt regarding school and the coronavirus, and she expressed that she couldn’t be happier at home, she was delighted “to be out of there.” As she was talking, I thought to myself, “I’d do anything to be back at school.” I miss my friends and my teachers so deeply, that being at home without them leaves me feeling incomplete.

I miss my friends and my teachers so deeply, that being at home without them leaves me feeling incomplete.

Saying goodbye to Torah High will be immensely difficult. How do I say goodbye to the people that made the last four years the best of my life? To the friends that made me smile and laugh every day? To the teachers that were always willing to help me to ensure I succeeded? To Rabbi Peikes who gave his everything to his students?

While closing this chapter of my life will be sad, I couldn’t be more excited for the next one to begin. I will be attending UCLA in the fall, and I truly don’t believe I’d be able to say this if it weren’t for the constant support and guidance provided by Rabbi Peikes.

I will be attending UCLA in the fall, and I truly don’t believe I’d be able to say this if it weren’t for the constant support and guidance provided by Rabbi Peikes.

I always knew that if I was having any issues at all, I could always walk into Rabbi’s office and he’d be more than ready to listen. This is something that I’ll never forget and will continue to hold with me as I embark on the next years of my life.


52 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page