top of page
Writer's pictureKolot Community

Jewish Teens Unite: My Unforgettable YAM Experience

Article by Sky Zuzan (THS '21)

I am proud to say that I am a part of the Youth Action Movement (YAM) which is an organization that connects Jewish High Schoolers from around San Diego. I, and many other teenagers, look forward to YAM’s monthly Shabbat dinners at the Rabbi’s house where we have a chance to meet and socialize with new people.

I, and many other teenagers, look forward to YAM’s monthly Shabbat dinners at the Rabbi’s house where we have a chance to meet and socialize with new people.

YAM is also a part of a larger organization called CTeen. Every year CTeen holds a Shabbaton in Crown Heights, NY, attracting teens from across the globe. This year was my second time participating in CTeen, and it proved to be just as fantastic of an experience as the first. I met Jewish teens from parts of the world that I wasn’t aware had Jewish communities. As a Jewish teen, I often feel the sense of isolation that comes with being a part of a minority group. But going to events like these reminds me that there truly are so many of us out there.

As a Jewish teen, I often feel the sense of isolation that comes with being a part of a minority group. But going to events like these reminds me that there truly are so many of us out there.

The CTeen Shabbaton is a three-day trip, in which participants have the opportunity to explore Judaism and New York City simultaneously. Before Shabbat, our chapter had the ability to explore the city and visit sites of our choice. On Friday night, we enjoyed a big Shabbat dinner. The room bustled with the conversations of Jewish teens from chapters all over the world.

On Shabbat day, we met in the main hall for breakfast and enjoyed many activities and speakers, meeting many new people along the way.

The minute Shabbat ends, every chapter rushed to the nearest subway station to get to Times Square. While it was quite cramped and difficult to move with nearly 3,000 Jewish teens crowding the platform, I believe that this was one of the best parts of the Shabbaton. We all chanted cheers for our chapters and teens were thrown in the air, each of us having the time of our livesMy apologies to the New Yorkers who were trying to get home that day.

When all the chapters gathered in Times Square, we had a huge Havdalah and concert right in the center of Times Square. They even rented out the billboards surrounding the area and went live on TV. It was beautiful to be standing in a sea of Jewish teens as we sang together. I admit I had no voice for the next few days.

On Sunday, we attended another banquet for breakfast and had a final closing ceremony. Then to end the fun-packed weekend, we visited the Ohel, finishing the weekend with a strong connection to our faith.

Overall, I believe that this trip is one of the best experiences a Jewish teen can have. I made good friends from around the world, learned more about my Judaism, and had an amazing time all at once.

I made good friends from around the world, learned more about my Judaism, and had an amazing time all at once.

Due to the current climate of social distancing, we haven’t been able to have our monthly Friday meals at the Rabbi’s house. However, that doesn’t mean that we don’t stay connected. Every Friday, we meet on Zoom with anyone who wants to join. We discuss the Parsha of the week, how everyone is doing, and even play a Kahoot trivia game complete with prizes. I am so grateful for YAM because although Torah High provides for me a daily connection to my faith, YAM gives teens who don’t have the ability to experience Judaism as intimately a chance to have the same experience.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page