top of page
Writer's pictureKolot Community

The Diaries of Being a Staff Kid

Updated: Apr 2, 2020

Article by Hannah Hydorn ('20)

I was once a normal student—one who leaves her parents upon stepping through the school gates. But two weeks ago, my life was transformed: Now, my mom is at school more than I am.

But two weeks ago, my life was transformed: Now, my mom is at school more than I am.

I’m not quite sure exactly what her job is, but I know that I have merited a new title: Staff Kid. I have a ride to school and back, someone to bother in the office (in addition to Deborah), and an insider’s look at Torah High’s current affairs. However, I am new to this and probably cannot offer an accurate depiction of what being a staff kid is truly like. So, I thought: What better idea than to ask experienced, real-life Torah High staff kids?


Interviewer: How many times a day do people ask you, “Where is your father?” or “can you ask your father this?”

Rivka: Oh, way too many times, and I also do not know the answer, so please stop asking me. Most times, other girls know where my father is. Usually, Hannah (or his best friend Rina) knows where he is.


Interviewer: Do you ever wish you could be an average student and not live in your father’s shadow?

Rivka: No, I think that I am normal. I personally do not think that I am different, but I dislike it when other people treat me so. If I had to choose a shadow to live in, this one is pretty nice!


Interviewer: Tell me some pros and cons.

Rivka: Um pro, well, he brings me french fries randomly. Cons, I have to participate in this article. It’s definitely a con when someone brings their sister to school, and they are pointing at you, and you know they are saying you are Rabbi Peikes’ daughter, then you drop a whole plate of food in front of them and it is very awkward (true story). Oh, I forgot! Every single class that I am in, the first thing the teacher says to me is, “Oh, so you’re Rivka; Rabbi Peikes is your dad.” Otherwise, it’s nice.


Interviewer: Are you tired of hearing how amazing your father is?

Rivka: No, I am in full agreement with the statement.


Interviewer: What is your most asked question?

Penina: They always ask, “Is she coming today?” Quote my entire class: “Can you ask your mom if we can go to coffee bean?” I also get, “Can you tell your mom I am coming late” and “Can you tell your mother that I have a blood test?” Yeah, just a lot of that.


Interviewer: Do you ever wish you could be an average student?

Penina: Yeah, I hate being below average.


Interviewer: Tell me some pros and cons.

Penina: I just took a really hard bio test, so I can’t really think of that right now. I have not actually attended her class in a while also. It’s a con because…


Interviewer: What is your most asked question?

Rina: People ask if my mom likes them. Teachers also ask if she wears a wig. No, my mom doesn't like you, and yes, she does wear a wig.


Interviewer: Tell me some pros and cons.

Rina: Pros are like that I get to find out things before everyone else. I get to take my mom’s car to go see puppies in National City, so I would say that that is a pro. Cons would be people yelling at me for the way I interact with my mom. Teachers don’t really talk to my mom about me, and when they do, it’s only good things. It’s just convenient to have her here, and it's great because we can bond all the time.


Interviewer: Do you ever wish you could be an average student?

Rina: You act like we have seven fingers. We’re not abnormal. But anyway, I am above average; my GPA is 5.0.


Interviewer: Wait, I totally forgot you are a staff kid.

Estie: Sisllyyyyy. (Pronounced as seriously but with a 4-year-old accent).


Interviewer: Do you get embarrassed?

Estie: When they refer to me as ‘spunk of the bunk,’ yes, I do.


Interviewer: Does having parents as staff members hinder your reputation? Estie: What does hinder mean? Ohhhh, yeah, um sometimes they tell stories about me that aren’t true, but mostly I feel like it makes me more popular and I enjoy that.


At the end of the day, there are many pros and cons, and I am not sure which one outweighs the other. Would you want to be a staff kid?

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page